Minutes of a Meeting of the Joint Governance Sub-Committee of Adur District and Worthing Borough Councils

Gordon Room, Town Hall, Worthing

Tuesday 25 November 2014

Councillor Noel Atkins (Chairman)

Adur District Council:

Worthing Borough Council:

Councillor Rod Hotton **Councillor David Donaldson *Councillor Paul Graysmark Councillor Sean McDonald Councillor Bob Smytherman

*Absent

**Cllr Donaldson did not attend the reconvened meeting that took place on the 26 November 2014

JGC/14-15/008 Declarations of Interest / Substitute Members

Councillor Patmore substituted for Councillor Paul Graysmark.

Councillors Smytherman and Hotton declared a personal interest in Item 5 as one of the candidates was a former West Sussex County Councillor.

Councillors Donaldson, McDonald and Patmore declared a personal interest in Item 5 as one of the candidates was known to them in a professional capacity.

JGC/14-15/009 Public Question Time

There were no questions from the public.

JGC/14-15/010 Items Raised Under Urgency Provisions

There were no urgent items raised.

JGC/14-15/011 Exclusion of the Press and Public

Resolved: that under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public and press be excluded from the meeting from the following items of business on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in the paragraph of Part 1 of Schedule 12 A to the Act indicated against the item.

JGC/14-15/012 Joint Independent Remuneration Panel – Appointment of Independent Members

Before the Committee was a report from the Director for Communities, copies of which had been circulated to all Members as Item 5.

Members interviewed candidates for positions on the Councils Joint Independent Remuneration Panel

The meeting was adjourned at 7.35pm.

The meeting reconvened at 6.30pm on 26th November 2014.

Resolved,

that the Joint Governance Sub-Committee appoint the following people to positions on the Joint Independent Remuneration Panel for a period of four years ending on the 30 November 2018:

- Ms Verity Lockhart,
- Mr Andrew Murton,
- Ms Barbara Nye

The meeting was declared closed by the Chairman at 8.20pm, it having commenced at 6:30pm.

Chairman